Three central curling teams unseeded heading into provincials

Glen Hallick

The three Central Region teams curling in this weekend's junior provincials are unseeded.

Carly Angers and her Miami team along with Kayla Curtis and her La Salle team are competing in Minnedosa at the junior women's championship Jan. 5-9.

The top seed is the Alyssa Vandepoele rink from the Victoria Curling Club in Winnipeg, followed by Shannon Birchard (St. Vital), Briane Meilleur (St. Vital), and Katie Spencer (Assiniboine Memorial).

Rounding out the seeds in the 16-team competition are Erika Sigurdson (Stonewall), Ashley Jahns (The Pas), Jackie Hebert (St. Vital), and Rebecca Lamb (Stonewall).


In the junior men's, being played simultaneously at the West Kildonan Curling Club in Winnipeg, Kyle Curtis and his La Salle team were not placed among the eight seeds.

Ranked number one is Joey Witherspoon (Fort Rouge), followed by Daniel Birchard (Pembina), Derek Blanchard (Assinibone Memorial), and Kyle Doering (West Kildonan). The remaining seeds are: Matt Dunstone (St. Vital), Cole Peters (Deer Lodge), Tanner Lott (Winnipeg Beach), and Derek Harrison (Charleswood).

As with junior women, 16 junior mens teams are vying for the Manitoba title.

This weekend's winners will be off to the Canadian junior championships in Napanee, ON in February.